A Brief History
of Barre

    Barre, a town set among the hills and valleys of central Massachusetts, started out as a rural farming community that has grown to almost 5,000 residents. Before Barre became a town in 1774, it was called the Northwest District of Rutland. As more settlers populated the area, the town became gradually autonomous, earning its own name-- Rutland District. The name was changed to Barre in 1776 in honor of Col. Issac Barre, a member of the British Parliament who embraced the colonists' cause of independence.

   As the Industrial Revolution reached Barre, many villages flourished. Textiles, gunpowder, and wood products were all lucrative industries for a time until the twentieth century, when the Charles G. Allen Company and the Barre Wool Company were the main industrial forces. Today, the ares is a tourist mecca where visitors can appreciate the display of autumn foliage, the sports of fishing and hunting, local shops and lush fertile farmland.

Barre Historical Society

PO BOX 755, 18 Common St Barre, Ma 01005

(978) 355-4978

barrehistory@gmail.com

Hours

Thursdays 10am-noon

Saturday sept. 8th 9:00am-2:30pm Carriage House open (barre lion's club car show)

Sunday sept. 15th noon-4:00pm (barrefest)

or by appointment Margaret Marshall 978-257-7653

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now
Yankee Hay Rake

This was the first item manufactured by the Chas G. Allen Company, it was assembled from 1874 to 1930.